Kuwait bars residents coming from Sri Lanka among others as it resumes air travel

Kuwait announced, on Thursday early morning, that a ban on residents from Iran, Bangladesh, the Philippines, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Nepal until further announcement.

The Kuwait Government Communication Center said that the Council of Ministers decided to allow citizens and residents in the country to travel to and from Kuwait, except for residents from Bangladesh, the Philippines, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Iran and Nepal.

Last month, Kuwait announced it would partially resume commercial flights from August, but does not expect to reach full capacity until a year later, as its aviation sector gradually recovers from a suspension sparked by the Covid-19 crisis. (With inputs from Kuwaitlocal.com)