LPL icon players increased from 5 to 6 due to KJPs injury concerns

Sri Lankan Cricket authorities have decided to increase the number of Icon players in the Lanka Premier League from 5 players to 6 due to the injury concerns of Kusal Janith Perera.

Sri Lanka Cricket Vice President Ravin Wickramaratne confirmed that Wicket-Keeper batsman Niroshan Dickwella has been added to the Icon players list of the LPL.

“We have added Niroshan Dickwella to the list due to the injury concerns of Kusal Janith. So the team who gets Kusal Janith will acquire Niroshan Dickwella as well”, he said.

As reported by NewsWire earlier, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, and Kusal Janith Perera will be the 5 main Icon players of the inaugural Lanka Premier League.

SLC officials are currently engaged in preparations for the Lanka Premier League T20 tournament which is expected to start on 14th November.

The Tournament will feature 23 games and will be played across Sri Lanka’s 3 day/night international stadiums – Sooriyawewa, Pallekele and Dambulla.

The five teams will be named after five cities – Colombo, Galle, Jaffna, Dambulla and Kandy. Each team will have six foreign players. (NewsWire)

Lankan Premier League – Top 40 marquee players expected to be part of LPL auction