Details of President’s meeting with Task Force on COVID-19 prevention

October 30, 2020 at 2:55 AM

There are 350 Medical Officers Health divisions throughout the country. COVID-19 infected persons have been identified in 28 out of these divisions, It was revealed on Thursday (29) during the meeting of the Task Force on COVID – 19 prevention chaired by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Members of the Task Force said that maximum possible measures have been taken to prevent the spread of the pathogen to other areas.

A total of 41,000 people, including first and second associates, have been quarantined to prevent the virus from spreading. President Rajapaksa emphasized the need of conducting random PCR tests covering every part of the country.

“It is important to comprehensively understand the causes of the increase in COVID-19 infected on several occasions and prevent its recurrence. Random tests were carried out continuously within the limits of Colombo Municipal Council. However, unexpected COVID-19 clusters emerged near the Peliyagoda fish market and Minuwangoda.”

Support from all parties is essential to prevent the virus from spreading locally through supply chains. The President stated that it is the social responsibility of people from all walks of life to follow health guidelines to the maximum possible extent.

Random tests should be carried out at economic centers including Dambulla. The President highlighted the importance of paying constant attention to the possible occurrence of COVID-19 clusters.

Curfew has been imposed in the Western Province effective from midnight on Thursday (29).  The responsibility on the part of the health sector during the relevant period is enormous. Curfew violators should severely be dealt with. Curfew passes will not be issued by any Police Station. However, cases of extreme urgency will be exempted.

People should not gather in risk zones. President emphasised that no opportunity should be available to congregate people at events such as weddings and religious functions within the Western Province. (PMD)