Five member Cricket Administrative Committee appointed

April 2, 2021 at 5:46 PM

A 05 -member Cricket Administrative Committee has been appointed on a temporary basis by Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa.

The committee has been appointed to function until the Sri Lanka Cricket elections are held.

Professor Arjuna De Silva will head the newly appointed committee.

The remaining members are Ashley De Silva, Sujeewa Mudalige, Uchitha Wickremesinghe, and Amal Edirisooriya.

Sports Ministry secretary Anuradha Wijekoon earlier this week said that the Attorney General has informed the Minister of Sports to appoint a management committee to handle the administrative affairs of Sri Lanka Cricket.

He told News1st that the Attorney General is in the opinion that the term of the Sri Lanka Cricket administration has ended and that they cannot continue to legally hold office any further.

The Colts Cricket Club had written to the Sports Minister seeking to appoint an interim committee to run Sri Lanka Cricket, as the term of the management of the local cricketing authority had ended on the 20th of February.

Sri Lanka Cricket election will be held next month. (NewsWire)