Distributing Rs. 5,000 allowance begins from today, families belonging to 7 categories qualified

April 12, 2021 at 10:32 AM

The Government will provide nearly three million low-income families with a cash allowance of Rs. 5,000 in view of the upcoming Sinhala and Hindu New Year festive season beginning today.

The Finance Ministry announced that this one-time payment will be made to families belonging to seven categories.

  1. Samurdhi beneficiary families
  2. Low-income families
  3. Families receiving senior citizens’ allowance
  4. Differently abled persons
  5. Kidney patients
  6. Elders aged over 100
  7. Those who became qualified under above six categories after submitting appeals.

Grama Nildhari officers refuse to distribute Rs 5,000