SJB submits no-confidence motion against Gammanpila

June 22, 2021 at 10:45 AM

A no-confidence motion against Minister of Energy Udaya Gammanpila has been handed over to the Speaker of the Parliament today.

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) submitted the motion against the Minister over the recent hike in fuel prices. 

SJB MP Lakshman Kiriella said 43 members of the opposition have signed the no-confidence motion. 

Prior to handing over the motion, the SJB conducted a vehicle procession from its party headquarters in Pita Kotte to the Parliament.

The vehicle process was held to protest the increase in fuel prices as proposed by Energy Minister Udaya Gammanpila. (NewsWire)