Nihal Fonseka appointed to CBSL Monetary Board

May 27, 2022 at 2:56 PM

The Parliamentary Council decided to concur with the recommendation to appoint Mr. Anthony Nihal Fonseka as a member of the Monetary Board of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, The Secretary General of Parliament Mr. Dhammika Dassanayake said.

The decision was taken at a meeting of Parliamentary Council chaired by the Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena yesterday (26).

The Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, the Minister of Fisheries Douglas Devananda and the Opposition Member of Parliament Kabir Hashim were also present at the meeting.

A Banker by profession, Mr. Nihal Fonseka has held several key positions in the local and international banking sectors. He was the Chief Executive Officer of the DFCC Bank for over 13 years and prior to that was the Deputy Chief Executive Officer of HSBC Sri Lanka for 10 years. He has also served as the Chairman of the Colombo Stock Exchange and the Association of Development Financing Institutions in Asia and Pacific, Manila and also as a director of Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC, and DFCC Vardhana Bank PLC.

Nihal Fonseka served as a monetary board member from 2017 to 2020 as well. (NewsWire)