4 decisions taken at party leaders’ meeting

July 9, 2022 at 5:57 PM


Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Dr. Harsha de Silva has revealed four key decisions taken during the party leaders’ meeting that was presided by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena today. 

The four key decisions agreed to by a majority of the party leaders are as follows:

  1. President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to resign immediately 
  2. Speaker to act as President for a maximum of 30 days 
  3. Parliament will elect MP as President for the remainder term
  4. Appoint interim all-party government and elections soon

Meanwhile, Justice Minister Wijesedasa Rajapakshe said that a majority of the party leaders had come to a consensus that the President and Prime Minister must resign.

According to News First, the Minister said that party leaders had also agreed that the Speaker must take over as President for a week’s time. 

He said the party leaders had further decided that the Parliament must convene and form an all-party government after which they should appoint an interim President.

The Justice Minister added that, however, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has disagreed with the proposals. (NewsWire)