National Sports Council appointed : Mahela to head

August 20, 2020 at 6:00 PM

Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa has appointed new members to the National Sports Council, which will advice the sports minister on sports policy matters.

Former Sri Lanka Cricket legend Mahela Jayawardana will head the council which is appointed for 2 years.

Their main task will be to advice the Minister on matters connected to developing sports in the country.

Pictures : First meeting of the National Sports Council

  • Mahela Jayawardene – Chairman
  • Julian Bolling – Committee Member
  • Kumar Sangakkara – Committee Member
  • Dilantha Malagamuwa – Committee Member
  • Kasturi Chellaraja Wilson – Committee Member
  • Supun Weerasinghe – Committee Member
  • Rohan Fernando – Committee Member
  • Ruwan Keragala – Committee Member
  • Sanjeewa Wickramanayake – Committee Member
  • Major General Rajitha Ampemohotti – Committee Member
  • Lieutenant General Shaveendra Silva – Committee Member
  • Rowena Samarasinghe – Committee Member
  • Yaswanth Muttetuwegama – Committee Member
  • A.J.S.S Edirisooriya – Committee Member
  • Thiyumi Abeysinghe – Appointed Secretary

Sri Lanka Cricket commences construction of 6 new local cricket grounds