No women in Sri Lanka’s new Cabinet

April 18, 2022 at 11:50 AM

The newly appointed Cabinet which consists of 17 Ministers has failed to include female representation. 

The new Cabinet was appointed by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the President’s House in Colombo today. 

The list shows the lack of female representation, and also does not include the Ministry of Women and Child Affairs. 

The previous Cabinet of Ministers included one female Parliamentarian in a ministerial portfolio.

Female MPs Pavithradevi Wanniarachchi, Dr. Sudarshini Fernandopulle, Dr. Seetha Arambepola, Geetha Kumarasinghe, Kokila Gunawardene, Muditha Prishanthi, Rajika Wickramasinghe, Manjula Dissanayake, and Diana Gamage represent the ruling party, Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), in Parliament. 

MP Pavithra Wanniarachchi is the only female Parliamentarian from the SLPP who has held the ministerial portfolios of Health, Energy, and Transport under the former Cabinet. 

Despite several female MPs from the ruling party in Parliament, they have not been given an opportunity to hold a ministerial post under the new Cabinet. (NewsWire)