Travel ban for six Galle Face activists

July 25, 2022 at 3:36 PM

A travel ban has been imposed on six activists involved in the anti-government protest at the Galle Face in Colombo. 

The Colombo Fort Magistrate’s Court today issued the overseas travel ban on the six activists.

The activists include Ceylon Teachers’ Union General- Secretary Joseph Stalin, Catholic priest Fr Jeewantha Peiris, Convener of the Inter-University Students’ Federation Wasantha Mudalige, the national organizer of ‘Youth for Change’ Lahiru Weerasekera, and Eranga Gunasekera.

On June 17, the Colombo Fort Magistrate ordered the Police to arrest several protesters for their unruly and violent behaviour during demonstrations at Colombo Fort and Thalangama on the 9th and 10th of June and to produce them before the court.

The suspects were remanded over several charges including criminal coercion, obstruction of duties of police officers, unlawful assembly, causing injuries, and causing damages to public property. (NewsWire)