“Thieves won” Charitha slams omission from COPE committee

October 3, 2022 at 12:19 PM

Former Chairman of the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) Prof. Charitha Herath has slammed his omission from the newly appointed COPE Committee.

Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena today announced the 27 members nominated by the Parliament Committee on Selection to serve on the COPE Committee.

Commenting on the new members, Prof. Charitha Herath slammed President Ranil Wickremesinghe and Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena over the omission of his name from the new COPE Committee.

He said the list of COPE Committee members has been released after a delay of two months and as predicted his name has been omitted from the newly nominated members of the Committee.

“Thieves, deal makers who are in favour of a corrupted system WON for the day. People behind the economic crimes wanted me out of their way. Shame on you @RW_UNP & @DCRGunawardena,” Prof. Herath said in a Twitter message today. (NewsWire)