Harsha to resign from COPE, Sajith proposes Charitha Herath

October 4, 2022 at 10:48 AM

Opposition Leader MP Sajith Premadasa has proposed to nominate the former Chairman of the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) Prof. Charitha Herath to the new committee. 

Addressing the Parliament today, MP Premadasa said Samagi Jana Balawegaya MP Dr. Harsha de Silva who was appointed a member of the Committee has taken an independent decision to step down from the COPE committee. 

He further said that the Opposition has decided to propose Prof. Charitha Herath to fill the vacancy.

The Speaker yesterday announced the 27- member COPE Committee, which did not include the name of Prof. Charitha Herath.

Commenting on the new COPE Committee, Prof. Herath slammed the government, especially President Ranil Wickremesinghe and Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena, for omitting his name. (NewsWire)