Two MPs among President’s delegation to Australia

February 9, 2024 at 4:26 PM

Members of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) and Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) have been spotted among the Sri Lankan delegation that has accompanied President Ranil Wickremesinghe on his tour to Australia. 

According to photographs released by the President’s Media Division (PMD), SJB MP Ishak Rahuman who contested the last elections under the All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC) and SLPP MP Chinthaka Mayadunne are among the Sri Lankan delegation. 

Senior Advisor to the President on National Security and Chief of the Presidential Staff Sagala Ratnayake and Foreign Minister Ali Sabry are also part of the delegation.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe is currently in Australia to deliver the Keynote address at the Indian Ocean Conference, commencing today.

During his visit, the President met Western Australia Premier Roger Cook, Australia’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Penny Wong, and the Sri Lanka Diaspora Community in Perth. 

At the meeting with the President, Western Australia Premier Roger Cook expressed interest in renewable energy, agriculture and direct aviation links with Sri Lanka.

During her encounter with the President, Minister Wong extended a warm welcome to President Wickremesinghe and conveyed gratitude for Sri Lanka’s supportive role in the conference.

She further underscored her government’s renewed dedication to the Indian Ocean region and fostering closer ties with pertinent nations. (NewsWire)