SJB signs agreement with estate sector representatives

February 14, 2024 at 4:31 PM

Several representatives of estate communities have signed a social agreement with the main Opposition, the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) party for the upliftment of the livelihoods of the communities.

The social agreement was signed with the SJB Leader MP Sajith Premadasa at the Opposition Leader’s Office in Colombo today (Feb 14).

MP Premadasa vowed to establish a Presidential Task Force under an SJB-led government to provide solutions to the various problems faced by the communities, including infrastructure, economic, social development and political issues.

The SJB Leader also pledged to protect the rights of the up-country and low-country estate communities.

Alongside MP Premadasa, who represented the SJB, Leader of the Tamil Progressive Alliance (TPA) MP Mano Ganesan, Leader of the National Union of Workers (NUW) Palani Digambaram, Leader of the Up-Country People’s Front (UCPF) V. Radhakrishnan, SJB Kegalle District MP Sujith Sanjaya Perera, SJB Kandy District MP M. Velukumar, and SJB Nuwara Eliya District MP Udya Kumar participated in the signing of the social agreement. (NewsWire)