Jagath Priyankara sworn in as SLPP MP for Puttalam District

February 8, 2024 at 10:44 AM

L.K Jagath Priyankara from the National Freedom Front (NFF) has been sworn in as a Member of the Parliament of Sri Lanka. 

Priyankara took oaths before the Speaker today to fill the vacancy in Parliament created by the demise of former State Minister Sanath Nishantha. 

He was sworn in as the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) MP for the Puttalam District. 

Former State Minister Sanath Nishantha and his security officer were killed in a motor accident that took place on the Colombo – Katunayake expressway on January 25, 2024.

A Gazette notification was thereafter, issued announcing the appointment of Jagath Priyankara to the Parliament to fill the vacancy created by the death of the late Sanath Nishantha. 

Accordingly, the National Election Commission declared Jagath Priyankara as a Member of the ninth Parliament of Sri Lanka for the electoral district of Puttalam.

Priyankara is a member of the National Freedom Front (Jathika Nidahas Peramuna) led by MP Wimal Weerawansa. (NewsWire)